To delete a branch locally in a Git repository, you can use the "git branch" command with the "-d" option and the name of the branch that you want to delete.
The -d option is an alias for --delete, this option will deletes the branch if it has already been merged in its upstream branch.
The -D option is an alias for --delete --force, which deletes the branch "irrespective of its merged status."
Delete Local Branch:
Systax to delete the Local branch:
Systax to delete the Remote branch:
Another option to delete a branch from a remote repository (such as GitHub), you can use the "git push" command with the name of the remote repository and the name of the branch that you want to delete. For example:
This will delete the "<Remote branch name>" branch from the "origin" remote repository.
Note: Once you deleted the branch, the changes that you made in that branch will no longer be available, unless they have been merged into another branch.